Principal Investigator

Dena Shahriari, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Orthopaedics
School of Biomedical Engineering
Principal Investigator, ICORD



Education and Training

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA. Post Doctoral Fellow at Bioelectronics Laboratory with Prof. Polina Anikeeva. Research Laboratory of Electronics; McGovern Brain Institute

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA. PhD in Macromolecular Science and Engineering

University of California Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA. BS in Bioengineering

Lab Coordinator

Nadine Truter

Faculty of Medicine Multidisciplinary Research Program in Medicine Awardee

Biomedical Engineering – 2022

Graduate Students


Shahriar Shalileh

UBC Four Year Fellowship Awardee

Shahriar Shalileh completed his BS and MS in Electrical Engineering at the University of Tehran. During his masters’ thesis, he worked on single-cell mechanoelectrical analysis in cancer diagnosis. Shahriar also worked at the Royan infertility clinic, where he investigated biosensors’ application in metabolite secretions from the human zygote.


Walid Alchamma

Walid Alchamaa holds a BS in Computer and Communications Engineering from the American University of Science and Technology and a MS in Biomedical Engineering from the American University of Beirut (AUB). During his master’s, he was part of the Neuroengineering and Nanobiosensors research group, where he designed and developed a point-of-care diagnostic biosensor for cardiovascular blood biomarkers. He was also part of the Wireless Communications and Biomedical Signal Processing research group, where he worked on a biofeedback mechanism for mindfulness estimation using VR and EEG signal analysis. His current research interests include neural interfaces, smart biomaterials, and biosensors.

Medical and undergraduate Students

Kenneth Ong

BS in Behavioural Neuroscience – With Distinction – UBC

Medical Student – 2025

Adan Moallemi

Faculty of Medicine Multidisciplinary Research Program in Medicine Awardee

Biology – 2022

Alex Golab

Integrated Sciences – 2023